« Back to all Fundings

UNESCO Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2023

Organisation: UNESCO

Status: Closed

  • Awards and Prizes
  • Freedom of expression

Funding Size: US$ 25,000

Deadline: 15/02/2023

  • Eligibility criteria:
    – Prizes may be conferred upon individuals, institutions, other entities or non-governmental organizations. Candidates shall have made a significant contribution to press freedom anywhere in the world representing all types of media including digital media. 
  • Type of funding: Award
  • Target countries: UNESCO Member States
  • Application language: English

UNESCO invites Member States to nominate candidates for UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2023, in consultation with their National Commissions, as well as international and regional professional non-governmental organizations in the field of journalism and press freedom.

This Prize is awarded each year to a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defense and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, particularly if risks were involved.

The UNESCO/ Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize was established in 1997 by UNESCO’s Executive Board in Memory of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who died in the exercise of his profession.

See here to learn more and apply.

Access the Fundraising Guide for expert advice on how to improve your fundraising applications and to identify prospective donors.

For the latest funding opportunities, profiles of media donors, and expert insight from GFMD’s MediaDev Fundraising Guide sign up for Bottom Line newsletter


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.