« Back to all Fundings

Shorenstein Journalism Award 2023

Organisation: Walter H. Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center (APARC)

Status: Closed

  • Awards and Prizes

Funding Size: $10,000

Deadline: 15/02/2023

  • Eligibility Criteria:
    – Both individual journalists and journalism organizations are eligible for the award.
    – Nominees’ work may be in traditional forms of print or broadcast journalism and/or in new forms of multimedia journalism.
  • Type of funding: Programmatic
  • Target countries: Asia and the Pacific
  • Application language: English

The Walter H. Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center (APARC), Stanford University’s hub for interdisciplinary research, education, and engagement in contemporary Asia, invites nominations for the 2023 Shorenstein Journalism Award.

Sponsored by the APARC, the annual award recognizes outstanding journalists and journalism organizations for excellence in coverage of the Asia-Pacific region.

The 2023 award will honor a recipient whose work has primarily appeared in Asian news media. APARC invites 2023 award nomination submissions from news editors, publishers, scholars, journalism associations, and entities focused on researching and interpreting the Asia-Pacific region.

An annual tradition since 2002, the Shorenstein Journalism Award honors the legacy of APARC benefactor, Mr. Walter H. Shorenstein, and his twin passions for promoting excellence in journalism and understanding of Asia. Over the course of its history, the award has recognized journalists who push the boundaries of the coverage of the Asia-Pacific region and help advance mutual understanding between audiences in the United States and their Asian counterparts.

Recent honorees include NPR’s Beijing Correspondent Emily Feng; Burmese journalist and human rights defender Swe Win; former Wall Street Journal investigative reporter Tom Wright; and Maria Ressa, CEO and executive editor of the Philippine news platform Rappler and winner of the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize.

Nominators should have professional knowledge of their nominee’s work. Self-nominations are NOT accepted.

See here to learn more and apply.

Access the Fundraising Guide for expert advice on how to improve your fundraising applications and to identify prospective donors.

For the latest funding opportunities, profiles of media donors, and expert insight from GFMD’s MediaDev Fundraising Guide sign up for Bottom Line newsletter


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.