« Back to all Fundings

Samir Kassir Award for Freedom of the Press

Organisation: European Union

Status: Closed

  • Awards and Prizes
  • Democracy and good governance
  • Freedom of expression
  • Gender equality in media

Funding Size: €10,000

Deadline: 01/04/2024

  • Eligibility Criteria
    – Candidates must submit an opinion article, an investigative article, or an audiovisual news report centred around one or more of the following topics: rule of law, human rights, good governance fight against corruption, freedom of expression, democratic development, or citizen participation.
    – The contest is open to journalist nationals of the following countries: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.
    – The submitted article must have been published in a print or online media outlet in one of the countries listed above or in one of the European Union Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia,  Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden).
    – The audiovisual news report must have been aired on a local or satellite television network or released on an online television network in one of the countries listed above or in one of the European Union Member States.
    – The article must not exceed 25,000 characters and must have been published between March 16, 2023, and March 15, 2024.
    – The report must not exceed seven minutes and must have been released between March 16, 2023, and March 15, 2024.
  • Type of Funding: Programmatic
  • Target Region: Middle East and Africa
  • Application Language: English

Submissions are now open for Samir Kassir Award for thousands of journalists in the region who investigate or speak out on democracy, human rights, good governance and civic engagement.

The Samir Kassir Award has also given a voice to brave women journalists, who face even more intimidation and harassment than their male colleagues do.

The European Union is committed to defending and promoting the freedom of the press. To quote the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy.

Award Information

The winner in each of the three categories will be awarded €10,000

The deadline for applications is April 1, 2024.

See here to learn more and apply.

Access the Fundraising Guide for expert advice on how to improve your fundraising applications and to identify prospective donors.

For the latest funding opportunities, profiles of media donors, and expert insight from GFMD’s MediaDev Fundraising Guide sign up for Bottom Line newsletter


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.