« Back to all Fundings

EQUIROM Journalism Excellence Awards

Organisation: Council of Europe

Status: Closed

  • Awards and Prizes
  • Gender equality in media

Funding Size: €2000

Deadline: 09/04/2024

  • Eligibility Criteria
    – Applications are open to all journalists from the Council of Europe member states, including photographers, television journalists, and reporters.
  • Type of Funding: Programmatic
  • Target Region: Europe
  • Application Language: English

The Council of Europe’s Roma and Travellers team is putting out a call for applications for the Journalism Excellence Awards, as part of the EQUIROM project, an EU-Council of Europe joint programme.

The Journalism Excellence Awards seek to frame Roma communities in a positive light in the media. It supports the EU’s goal of encouraging a stereotype-free image of marginalised groups in order to change people’s assumptions.

The “Equality and Freedom from Discrimination for Roma” (EQUIROM) programme is a joint initiative by the European Union and the Council of Europe. This collaborative project aims to advance equality for Roma people in four Southern European countries: Bulgaria, Greece, Romania, and Italy.

The purpose of the EQUIROM project is to prevent and combat anti-gypsyism and discrimination and promote equality for Roma people, in accordance with the EU Roma Strategic Framework and Council of Europe Strategic Action Plan for Roma and Travellers Inclusion by:

  • Combatting stereotypes in the media, raising awareness about the history and culture of Roma and other ethnic minorities including Roma Holocaust and contributing to building positive narratives about Roma by journalists and other media representatives;
  • Fostering closer co-operation and mutual understanding between Roma and pro-Roma civil societies, Roma communities and individuals, journalists and other media representatives;
  • Empowering Roma people, in particular Roma women and young people, to become front-runners in the fight against anti-gypsyism and gender stereotypes.
Funding Information

Awards will be given to five journalism categories. These include photojournalism, investigative journalism, the best Interview, the best coverage of a global event, and an award for Young Journalists. The winners will receive a prize of €2000 during a ceremony that will take place on June 18, 2024, in Strasbourg.

See here to learn more and apply.

Access the Fundraising Guide for expert advice on how to improve your fundraising applications and to identify prospective donors.

For the latest funding opportunities, profiles of media donors, and expert insight from GFMD’s MediaDev Fundraising Guide sign up for Bottom Line newsletter


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.