« Back to all Fundings

BIBA Journalist and Media Awards 2024

Organisation: British Insurance Brokers’ Association (BIBA)

Status: Closed

  • Awards and Prizes
  • Media support

Funding Size: £250 - 1,000

Deadline: 01/03/2024

  • Eligibility Criteria
    – Journalists can enter a maximum of three award categories including entries made as part of a team;
    – Podcasts must be no longer than 35 minutes;
    – Written articles must be no longer than 2500 words;
    – Print, broadcast and online pieces produced between 2 February 2023 -2 February 2024 are eligible for submission;
    – All entries (except Most Promising Newcomer Award and Consumer Champion Award) must consist of only one general insurance article, broadcast recording or campaign;
    – Journalists should be aware that they can only enter each category once this includes joint entries with your team. You may enter a maximum of three categories, but a different article must be entered for each category. Any duplicated entries will not be judged;
  • Type of Funding: Programmatic
  • Target Region: United Kingdom
  • Application Language: English

Entries are now open for BIBA Journalist and Media Awards 2024 to recognise the important contribution that journalists make in promoting a better understanding and awareness of general insurance issues.

The BIBA Journalist and Media Awards is open to journalists who have written, displayed or broadcast on general insurance subjects in the UK press between 2 February 2023 – 2 February 2024.

The awards ceremony will be held at 4pm on Wednesday, 10 July 2024 at Lloyd’s of London, Old Library, followed by food and drinks at One Under Lime for those able to stay.

Award Information
  • All entrants will be considered for the overall Journalist of the Year Award which carries a prize of £1000 and is chosen by BIBA.
  • National, regional and trade journalists are eligible to enter 11 categories each one carrying a prize of £800 for the winner. Judges will have the discretion to make a Highly Commended Award of £250.

The individual categories are:

  • Consumer Champion Award: Open to the best consumer or money journalist tackling readers’ insurance based problems and complaints.
  • Story of the Year Award: Open to national, insurance trade and regional journalists for the best insurance story of the year.
  • London or International Award: Open to any journalist for the best, most informative article about the London or international insurance market.
  • Scoop of the Year Award: Open to any journalist who was responsible for researching, breaking, and writing an important insurance news story first.
  • Best Consumer or Business Award: Open to national and regional journalists for the best all round article examining insurance issues for consumers or businesses including the investigation, research and overall explanation of a general insurance subject that raises awareness for individual or business consumers of insurance.
  • Best Trade Award: Open to journalists who have written an article, feature or news item including the investigation, research, and overall explanation of a general insurance subject in the insurance trade press.
  • Most Promising Newcomer Award: Open to any journalist who started to write or broadcast on insurance matters during the last 18 months.
  • Best Interview or Profile Award: Open to any journalist or podcaster who has researched and developed the most informative and most engaging interview with an individual or profile of an organisation within the insurance industry.
  • Best Thought Leadership Award: Open to any journalist who has written an in-depth, opinion-led piece that shapes or provokes debate in the insurance industry.
  • Best Investigative Journalism Award: Open to any journalist who has thoroughly investigated, researched, and presented in any medium an insurance issue to increase the understanding of it.
  • Best Digital or Broadcast Award: Open to any journalist or media outlet who has creatively used digital or broadcast channels to further the understanding of insurance to their audience. (Where presenting a digital entry they expect this to use digital media to their full extent to enhance the reporting of any issue and not simply an article posted online.)
  • Best Publication Award (judged and presented by BIBA): Awarded to the publication or team that has in the BIBA judges’ opinion best presented insurance matters in the course of the year.

See here to learn more and apply.

Access the Fundraising Guide for expert advice on how to improve your fundraising applications and to identify prospective donors.

For the latest funding opportunities, profiles of media donors, and expert insight from GFMD’s MediaDev Fundraising Guide sign up for Bottom Line newsletter


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.