« Back to all engagements

COVID-19 and the Media in South Asia

As part of the initiative “Transparency and media freedom – Crisis resilience in the global pandemic”, DW Akademie is organizing a panel where regional experts in the fields of journalism, health communication and media development discuss current challenges of the media in the face of the Covid-19 crisis in South Asia (esp. Bangladesh, India and Pakistan).

Experts:

  • Annie Zaman – Journalist, consultant and researcher with a focus on freedom of expression and journalist safety
  • Syed Nazakat – Founder & CEO of DataLEADS, a digital media company that promotes open data and democratization of information at scale
  • Mohammad Al-Masum Molla – Author and reporter for the Daily Sun with a focus on contemporary affairs and in-depth investigations

Moderator:

  • Amber Rahim Shamsi – An award-winning multi-media journalist and free speech advocate, with wide-ranging experience in television, radio, online and the print media

The initiative:

Media worldwide are under pressure, particularly during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. In response, Germany’s Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and DW Akademie have launched the initiative “Transparency and media freedom – Crisis resilience in the global pandemic”. The goal is to strengthen the resilience of local media so that people are able to make informed decisions. Find out more about the initiative on the DW Akademie website.

The panel will take place on 16 March 2022, 3 pm (Bangladesh) / 2.30 pm (India) / 2 pm (Pakistan) on Zoom. It will be held in English. DW Akademie invites media practitioners, media development experts, professionals involved in health communication and other interested parties to join us.

Please note: Registration is open until 14 March 11.59 pm (Bangladesh) / 11.29 pm (India)/ 10.59 pm (Pakistan). The event link will be sent to all registrants on 15 March 2022.

To find out more about the event, click here.

To register, click here.

Organisation: Deutsche Welle Akademie

Deadline: 14/03/2022

Location: Online

Search

You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.