« Back to all Engagements

Call for Nominations: 2024 Nat Nakasa Award for Courageous Journalism

Status: Open

Organisation: South African National Editors Forum (SANEF)

Deadline: 30/06/2024

Location: Online

The South African National Editors Forum (SANEF) is now accepting nominations for the Nat Nakasa Award for Courageous Journalism, focusing on stories published in print or online or broadcast between June 2023 and June 2024.

The competition offers two awards:

  • The Nat Nakasa Award for Media Integrity
  • The Nat Nakasa Award for Community Media.

Nat Nakasa was a prominent journalist and writer who died in exile. This annual award recognises any media practitioner – journalist or editor – who has:

  • Showed integrity and reported fearlessly.
  • Displayed a commitment to serve the people of South Africa despite insurmountable obstacles.
  • Resisted any censorship.
  • Shown courage in making information available to the South African public.
  • Any combination of the above.

The Award is open to all journalists serving all media platforms from a community/national newspaper, magazine, or an electronic medium (including online publishers).

The winner of the Award will be announced at the Awards ceremony on September 14 in Durban, and will receive ZAR 20,000 and a certificate.

Nomination guidelines

Nominations of deserving candidates/journalists can be done by members of the public, editors, fellow journalists, and or their colleagues. Journalists can nominate themselves. Previous winners of this award are, however, not eligible for entry.

For more information about this opportunity and to submit your nomination, please click here. The deadline for this nominations is June 30, 2024.

For more engagement opportunities, subscribe to MediaDev Insider newsletter, your guide on how to support journalism and media from the GFMD IMPACT


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.