Who is Who

Who is who

The Global Forum for Media Development (GFMD) concluded its fourth World Forum for Media Development in Jakarta on 22 September 2016 with the election of a new Steering Committee. The new Steering Committee is composed of 20 members: 14 members elected in Jakarta and six incumbents serving a third and final term. The Steering Committee then elected Ricardo Corredor (Colombia), Executive Director of Fundación Gabriel García Márquez para el Nuevo Periodismo Iberoamericano (FNPI) as the new Chairman of GFMD. Kateryna Myasnikova (Ukraine) was chosen as Vice-Chair, Leon Morse (USA) as Secretary General, and Laurent Allary (France) as Treasurer.

The 14 elected members join Leon Willems (Netherlands), Director for Policy and Programmes of Free Press Unlimited); Jesper Højberg (Denmark), Executive Director of International Media Support (IMS); James Deane (UK), Director for Policy and Learning at BBC Media Action; Joyce Barnathan (USA), President of the International Center for Journalists; and Remzi Lani (Albania), Executive Director of the Albanian Media Institute; whose membership of GFMD’s Steering Committee was extended for a third and final term by the new GFMD Constitution, adopted on September 10, 2016.