GFMD

#mediadev Events

back to #mediadev Events

Journalism Safety Training Webinar April 9 at 16:00 CET

21 March 2018
Topics:

Join us on April 9 at 16:00 CET to hear more about how journalists view their safety training courses and what can be and has been done to improve what's on offer.

In December 2017, the Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma under the Journalism School at Columbia University published a report, Journalists and Safety Training: Experiences and Opinions, detailing a survey of how journalists view safety trainings they have attended, the skills they acquired, and the gaps that need to be addressed in these trainings.

The report, based on answers from 247 respondents, summarises the ‘good news’, that journalists do implement changes in their behaviour when they have attended trainings, and the gaps and challenges, including the fact that few journalists keep their training up to date in spite of industry recommendations for refresher courses every 3 years. Recommendations include more sexual violence and harassment training; that safety trainers should be knowledgeable about gender and cultural issues; that psychological trauma needs to be addressed in training; and that more digital security training is needed.

A panel consisting of the authors of the report and two safety experts will discuss the findings of the report and what can be done to improve safety training for journalists – both for those working in newsrooms and for those who freelance.

Panellists:

Bruce Shapiro: Report editor. Executive Director of the Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma, a project of Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism encouraging innovative reporting on violence, conflict and tragedy worldwide. An award-winning reporter on human rights, criminal justice and politics, Shapiro is a contributing editor at The Nation and U.S. correspondent for Late Night Live on the Australian Broadcasting Corporation’s Radio National. Also Senior Executive Director for Professional Programs at Columbia Journalism School.  His books include Shaking the Foundations: 200 Years of Investigative Journalism in America and Legal Lynching: The Death Penalty and America's Future. 

Elisabet Cantenys: Executive Director for A Culture of Safety Alliance (ACOS Alliance), a coalition of major news companies, journalism organizations, and freelancers, who have gathered to develop and endorse worldwide freelance protection standards and work to embed them into newsrooms worldwide. Cantenys is former Head of Programmes at the Rory Peck Trust. She joined the Rory Peck Trust in 2004 as a researcher and rose to the role of Head of programmes in 2010. Before joining Rory Peck, Cantenys worked as a freelance documentary producer, radio journalist and writer in New York, London and Barcelona.

Cath Mossom: Head of Training for RPS Partnership, organising and running RPS Partnership's training programmes. An experienced trainer and Security & Risk Management Consultant, Mossom has trained UK and foreign nationals both in the UK and overseas. Over 26 years of experience working in Africa, the Middle East and South America, providing training and advice for a broad range of companies. She has operated with government agencies at times of national crisis and has expertise in crisis management both in the UK and abroad.

Please note that the webinar will take place at the following times across the globe: Los Angeles: 07:00 / Mexico City: 09:00 / New York 10:00 / Sao Paolo: 11:00 / London: 15:00 / Brussels: 16:00 / Karachi: 19:00 / Jakarta: 21:00.

Sign up on: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_7wSZa2bzTnygafAye4buVA

If you are unable to attend, don’t worry - just sign up and we will send you a link to the webinar recording once it becomes available.