« Back to all News

Celebrating World News Day 2020

Author: Olga Komarova | 24. September 2020

World News Day 2020 is set to take place on Monday, September 24. The World News Day initiative has been led by the Canadian Journalism Foundation and the World Editors Forum, the network for editors within WAN-IFRA, since 2018.

This year, over 120 newsrooms around the world are joining the initiative in an effort to highlight the valuable work being carried out by journalists and media organisations. Participating newsrooms will use their pages, editorial columns, and social media channels on the 28th September to show why #JournalismMatters.

As well as this, there are two webinars taking place on World News Day 2020 in celebration of the event:

1. Covid-19: How can you contribute? A live deep-dive with youth & media on tackling the pandemic

  • Time: 09:00 CEST
  • Registration link.
  • Speakers: Prof Dale Fisher (Australian infectious disease specialist), Dr June Tay (head of the Digital Media Programme at Singapore University of Social Sciences), and editors from the Straits Times, Manilla Bulletin and Jakarta Post.

2. Online Session with Dr. Anthony Fauci and Maria Ressa

  • Time: 01:00 CEST
  • Registration link.
  • Speakers: Brian Stelter  (CNN Media Correspondent), Dr Anthony Fauci (Director of the US Institute of Allergies and Infectious Diseases), Maria Ressa (CEO of Rappler), and  journalists and correspondents from The New York Times, CNN, BBC, Reforma, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Geographic,and ABC. The event will also include performances by artists such as Macy Gray. The full programme is here.

Follow the event and contribute to the celebrations online using #JournalismMatters.

World News Day 2020 also coincides with The International Day for Universal Access to Information 2020, which focuses on to the right to information in times of crisis. Read more about how to participate here.


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.