« Back to all Careers

The Walter Reuter German Journalism Prize

Status: Open

  • Awards & prizes

Organisation: Premio Alemán de Periodismo Walter Reuter (PAPWR)

Deadline: 01/08/2024

Location: Latin America

The Walter Reuter German Journalism Prize (PAPWR) is an award aimed at Mexican and Latin American journalists who publish in Mexican media.

Journalism professionals who publish in print, radio, television or the Internet can participate. It is an effort in which, for the first time in history, nine German institutions with very different interests and work, come together to promote freedom of expression and grant recognition to quality journalistic activity in Mexico.

The aim of this Walter Reuter German Journalism Prize is to additionally encourage journalists to deal with current issues with professionalism and depth.

The Walter Reuter German Journalism Prize proposes this year to address the transformation processes that democratic societies are currently going through, with a special emphasis on Mexico.

Under the theme “ Democracy: Beyond elections ” they are interested in addressing topics such as

  • The positive and negative impacts of new technologies
  • The growing presence of hate speech and disinformation campaigns on social networks
  • The risks posed by violence and presence of organized crime or the ways in which the gender agenda can contribute to the democratisation of politics.

Journalists from all over Latin America residing in Mexico who have published works on the theme of the award between July 31, 2023 and July 31, 2024 may apply until August 1, 2024 .

Award Categories

The award categories are:

  • Radio, Television and Multimedia
  • Written press
  • Photography and caricature.
How to apply

The deadline for applications is August 1, 2024. To learn more and apply, please click here.

For more latest career opportunities, subscribe to our LinkedIn newsletter MediaDev Insider


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.