« Back to all Careers

The Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling

Status: Closed

Organisation: International Centre for Journalists (ICFJ)

Deadline: 30/01/2022

  • Eligibility
    – The contest is open to English-speaking journalists working in Africa for print, broadcast, and online news media. Applicants must have no more than 10 years of journalism experience.
    – Applicants must submit one published piece that exemplifies Africa through thoughtful reporting and excellent storytelling. They are looking for impactful investigative or explanatory pieces, especially those that illuminate transformational change in Africa.
    – A copy of the published story or broadcast clip must be submitted in English. Works in other languages must include English translations. They welcome submissions from print, broadcast or digital journalists. Multimedia submissions may include web, audio, video, visual or mixed media.
    – The submitted story must be published between December 1, 2020, and December 1, 2021.
  • Type of Funding: Award
  • Target Countries: African continent
  • Application Language: English

The Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling, a collaboration between the International Center for Journalists (ICFJ), the ONE Campaign, and the Elliott family, honors up-and-coming journalists in Africa who strives to strengthen people’s voices and illuminate the transformational change taking place on the continent.

Thanks to the award’s many donors and the generous support of The Economist, ICFJ is pleased to honor two award winners in 2022 who published groundbreaking journalistic work.

Entries will be selected on the quality of the piece and the impact their work has had in communities. They welcome excellent submissions in all media, especially those that demonstrate analytical skills in addition to outstanding writing ability.

For more information and to apply, see here.

For more latest career opportunities, subscribe to our LinkedIn newsletter MediaDev Insider


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.