« Back to all Careers

Submit Applications for Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2021

  • Eligibility:
    • Publication period
      • Entries must have been published (an online version must be accessible) or broadcasted (radio or television with an online version accessible) between 10 March 2020 and 9 March 2021.
    • Length
      • For text-based entries, the length limit is 2,300 words.
      • Video and audio entries can be up to 15 minutes long.
    • Geographic eligibility
      • The location of the media outlet where the reporting was published determines the geographic eligibility of application. The outlet’s office must be based in an eligible country. For example, reporting published in Reuters India is eligible, while reporting published in Reuters USA is not.
    • Author(s)
      • Submitted reporting can have one or several authors. The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work.
    • Previous winners
      • 2020 winners cannot compete again for the 2021 Prize but are eligible for subsequent editions.
  • Funding amount: 10,000€ (for each winner)
  • Type of funding: Awards and Prizes
  • Target countries: Global
  • Application languages: All languages  (with translation in English, French or Spanish)
The European Commission is seeking applications for its Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2021 to honor courage in journalism.

Thematic Areas

Entries to this year’s competition should relate to the issues of:

  • Inequality,
  • Poverty eradication,
  • Sustainable development,
  • Environment, biodiversity, climate action,
  • Digital (gap, connectivity, e-governance, entrepreneurship),
  • Jobs and employment,
  • Education and skills development,
  • Migration,
  • Healthcare (access, assistance), and
  • Peace, democracy and human rights.


Learn more and apply here.

Status: Open

Deadline: Ongoing


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.