« Back to all Careers

The One World Media Awards 2023 celebrate underreported stories from around the world

Celebrating their 35th Anniversary in 2023, the One World Media Awards recognise the best media coverage of the global south. Stories that break through stereotypes, change the narrative and connect people across cultures.

The Awards look to champion stories that demonstrate originality, creativity, and the potential to catalyse change. All entries should highlight underreported stories or issues, or explore new angles on familiar topics.

Special focus will particularly be on how the story is told: Is it amplifying voices that are normally unheard? Is it an inspiring story that will create change? Does the story challenge misperceptions or stereotypes?


All entries should focus on stories, topics or issues in, about or related to low- and middle-income countries across the global south. This includes countries across Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, the Middle East, Russia or the Post-Soviet States. Jurors will be looking for media that covers underreported stories or new angles and approaches to more familiar stories.

*There is a fee to enter the Awards except the Special Award category, which is free. But discounts are available.

Entries must have had their first screening, broadcast, theatrical release, launch or publication between 11 February 2022 and 9 February 2023.

With the exception of the Special Award, all categories are open to entrants anywhere in the world, as long as the work meets one of the following criteria:

  • the entry has been broadcast, screened or published (in print or in an established online publication/website) in the UK; OR
  • the entry has been broadcast or published (in an established print/online publication/website) internationally and is available for an English-speaking audience; OR
  • the entry has been screened at an international film festival
Selection Criteria:

Entries will be evaluated based on the overall merit of the piece, with an emphasis on:

Relevance, originality and creativity of the coverage

  • Highlights underreported stories or issues
  • Explores new angles on familiar topics
  • Challenges misperceptions and/or stereotypes of the global south

Substance and accuracy of the coverage

  • Depth of research and analysis
  • Accurate and balanced reporting that highlights the voices and perspectives of people in and from the global south

Impact and reach of the coverage

  • Demonstrates the actual impact or potential for the coverage to catalyse change
  • May have prompted additional media coverage or policy change
  • Consideration may be given to the total audience reached


  • Entries need to demonstrate a commitment to diversity and representation in areas, such as: subject representation, themes and narratives, project team, industry access and opportunities for diversity in audience development.

Quality of the coverage

  • Well-crafted, structured and engaging
  • High production and editorial values
  • Distils and presents complex topics to the target audience in an understandable and accessible way
Key dates:

Open for entries: 5 January 2023
Close for entries: 9 February 2023
Longlist announced: April 2023
Shortlist announced: May 2023
Awards day: June 2023

To learn more, please click here.

Status: Open

  • Awards & prizes

Organisation: One World Media

Deadline: 09/02/2023

Location: Remote


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.