« Back to all Careers

Nile Media Awards 2023

Status: Closed

  • Awards & prizes

Organisation: Nile Basin Initiative

Deadline: 22/08/2023

Location: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

The Nile Basin Initiative with support from GIZ, on behalf of the German Federal Government announces the Nile Media Awards 2023. Journalists are invited to submit original pieces of their work that promote Cooperation in Transboundary Waters in the Nile Basin. This includes topics such as countries jointly addressing challenges like climate change, maximising socio-economic benefits, minimising risks and costs of development projects, and promoting regional peace and security through the cooperative management and use of the shared Nile Basin water resources.

Nile Media Awards 2023 Themes

They encourage journalists to explore the benefits of cooperation in the Nile Basin on various topics/sectors, including food, water, and energy security, climate adaptation, ecosystems, governance and management of water resources, regional investment projects, and many more. We particularly welcome submissions with a strong focus on the human impact of cooperation in the Nile Basin.

Who Can Apply? 

The Award is open to all practicing journalists including freelancers in the mainstream media and multi-media outlets from the Nile Basin countries.

Award Categories

Categories for entries include print, radio, television, photography, and digital categories. From this pool, judges will also select the best female entry and best collaborative story. No entry fee is required.

Eligible Entries

The entries should have been published in publications in the 10 NBI Member States namely: Burundi, DR Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, The Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda, between December 2020 and August 22, 2023

Nile Media Awards 2023 Ceremony

The award ceremony will be held in tandem with the 6th Nile Basin Development Forum (NBDF) in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia convened by the NBI in collaboration with its Member States and in partnership with development partners.


Awards will be given in the following categories:

  • Print, Radio, Television, Photography, and Digital, from this pool judges, will also select Best female entry & Best collaborative story.

Key Dates

  • August  22, 2023: Entry submission closing date
  • September 30, 2023: Invite nominees to the award-giving ceremony
  • October 27, 2023: Award-giving ceremony


The Award is open to all practicing journalists as well as freelancers in the mainstream media and multi-media outlets from the Nile Basin countries. No entry fee is required.

Learn more about the awards here and submit your entry.

For more latest career opportunities, subscribe to our LinkedIn newsletter MediaDev Insider


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.