« Back to all Careers

Middle East Fellowship for Young Journalists

  • Eligibility criteria:
    – open to young journalists from Middle East countries. Must be able to provide a journalistic appraisal written by the head of department or editor-in-chief.
  • Type of funding: Programmatic
  • Target country: Middle East countries.
  • Application language: English

In 2022 International Journalists’ Programmes (IJP) are offering for the nineteenth time a travel and work fellowship for up to five young journalists from the Middle East, especially from Egypt, Lebanon, Jordan, Israel and Palestine to spend a two-month period in Germany. IJP is doing this in cooperation with governmental institutions, foundations and sponsors in Germany and the Middle East. At the same time, the fellowship is being offered to journalists in Germany, who can apply to spend a two-month period in the Middle East.

The fellowship is intended to enable young journalists to familiarize themselves with the political issues in Germany at an early stage of their career. This will raise awareness to the relations between Germany and the Middle East in young media multipliers and will give them a personal insight into mentality, culture and everyday life in Germany and the European Union.

The practical part of the fellowship ensures contact with colleagues in the region, and it is hoped this contact will be maintained in future years. This is also the purpose of the future alumni association of former grant holders and of an annual alumni reunion in Berlin.

The two work fellowships each for journalists from Germany and Israel are named in honour of the journalist Ernst Cramer and the former mayor of Jerusalem Teddy Kollek and their exemplary dedication to the intensification of German-Israeli relations.

See here to learn more and apply.

Status: Closed

  • Fellowships

Organisation: International Journalists’ Programme

Deadline: 15/06/2022


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.