« Back to all Careers

Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2021

Key Information

  • Eligibility: 
    • Entries must have been published (an online version must be accessible) or broadcasted (radio or television with an online version accessible) between 10 March 2020 and 9 March 2021.
    • The location of the media outlet where the reporting was published determines the geographic eligibility of your application. The outlet’s office must be based in an eligible country. For example, reporting published in Reuters India is eligible, while reporting published in Reuters USA is not.
  • Funding amount: 3 prizes averaging €10,000
  • Type of funding: Prize
  • Target countries: Global, the full list of eligible countries can be found here.
  • Application languages: English, Spanish or French

The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize was launched in 1992 to honour courage in journalism. It rewards the excellence of journalists reporting about the stories that matter on the topics of inequality, poverty eradication, sustainable development, environment, biodiversity, climate action, digital, jobs and employment, education and skills development, migration, healthcare, and peace, democracy and human rights.

Today,  the #NataliPrize community of ground-breaking journalists working for a better world  has become a global platform to the stories giving a voice to those whose vital message is often overlooked. This community of trailblazers includes past #NataliPrize winners, past Grand Jury members as well as the strategic regional partners and ambassadors closely collaborating with the European Commission in the organization of the Prize.

Entries to this year’s competition should relate to the issues of:

  1. Inequality,
  2. Poverty eradication,
  3. Sustainable development,
  4. Environment, biodiversity, climate action,
  5. Digital (gap, connectivity, e-governance, entrepreneurship),
  6. Jobs and employment,
  7. Education and skills development,
  8. Migration,
  9. Healthcare (access, assistance), and
  10. Peace, democracy and human rights.

Applicants must choose one of the three categories when filling in the online form. The Prize is open to journalists in the following three categories:

  1. Grand Prize: reporting published by a media based in one of the European Union’s partner countries on development and cooperation.
  2. Europe Prize: reporting published by a media based in the European Union (not including the United Kingdom).
  3. Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 whose reporting was published by a media based in the European Union (not including the United Kingdom) or in one of its partner countries on development and cooperation.

There will be up to three winners. Each winner will receive 10,000€. The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered a work experience opportunity with a media partner. Categories will not be awarded if quality is not met.

Please, find more details and apply here.

Status: Open

Deadline: Ongoing


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.