« Back to all Careers

IWMF’s Courage in Journalism Awards

Status: Closed

Organisation: International Women’s Media Foundation

Deadline: 19/03/2022

  • Eligibility criteria: 
    – Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Awards must be full-time staff or freelance women or non-binary reporters, writers, editors, photographers or producers working in any country and of any nationality.
    – Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Type of funding: Award
  • Target countries: Worldwide
  • Application language: English

The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) is inviting nominations for the Courage in Journalism Awards to honor women journalists who set themselves apart by exhibiting extraordinary bravery, persistence and resilience. Doing whatever it takes to uncover the truth, these women raise the bar for reporting under duress, or in the face of censorship.

The Courage in Journalism Awards show people that women journalists are not going to step aside, cannot be silenced, and deserve to be recognized for their strength in the face of adversity. It honors the brave journalists who report on taboo topics, work in environments hostile to women, and share difficult truths. The awards program honors brave journalists – including photojournalists – working in any country across the world. In addition, the honorees demonstrate a commitment to press freedom and often overcome unjust conditions online and offline to become leaders in their industry.

See here to learn more and apply.

For more latest career opportunities, subscribe to our LinkedIn newsletter MediaDev Insider


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.