« Back to all Careers

2023 ICFJ Knight Awards

Status: Closed

  • Awards & prizes

Organisation: International Centre for Journalists (ICFJ)

Deadline: 12/02/2023

Location: Global

Nominations for the 2023 ICFJ Knight Awards are now open.

Each year, the International Center for Journalists honors outstanding colleagues with the ICFJ Knight International Journalism Awards at its Tribute to Journalists. ICFJ is now seeking nominees whose pioneering coverage or media innovations have made an impact on the lives of people in their countries or regions. Candidates can be reporters, editors, technologists, media managers or citizen journalists. Those who meet the award’s criteria may nominate themselves. Please submit your nominations by Sunday, Feb. 12, 2023.

The 2022 ICFJ Knight Award winners were Salvadoran Carlos Dada, Afghan Anisa Shaheed and a trio of Ukrainian journalists: Mstyslav Chernov, Evgeniy Maloletka and Vasilisa Stepanenko. Dada’s trailblazing news organization, El Faro, is a beacon of fearless, high-quality, independent journalism, shining a light on injustice in El Salvador and beyond. As a reporter for Afghanistan’s TOLOnews, Shaheed worked courageously to cover major stories, breaking taboos with her reporting and persevering through challenges as an Afghan woman journalist.

Reporting for the Associated Press, the Ukrainian team bravely stayed in Mariupol to document Russian attacks on civilians, filming the shelling of a maternity hospital and the broader human cost of the invasion in their home country.

To learn more and nominate a journalist, please click here.

For more latest career opportunities, subscribe to our LinkedIn newsletter MediaDev Insider


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.