« Back to all Careers

EU Award for Investigative Journalism 2024

Status: Closed

  • Awards & prizes

Organisation: Thomson Media

Deadline: 13/06/2024

Location: Western Balkans

The EU Award for Investigative Journalism 2024 is now open for submissions, continuing its tradition of honouring outstanding investigative reporting from the Western Balkans and Türkiye.

Journalists are invited to submit their investigative stories published during the previous calendar year. The EU Award for Investigative Journalism aims to advance freedom of expression, uphold the rule of law, and shed light on diverse issues affecting national and regional dynamics.

Award information

In addition to the national awards, the organisers will choose the best regional investigative stories for the second year in a row. The regional award aims to inspire the exploration of issues transcending national boundaries and address challenges impacting the entire region. Entries nominated for the regional award must be translated into English.

The annual award fund remains at €10,000 per country, with an additional €10,000 allocated for the regional Award. Prizes for both national and regional categories are as follows:

  • €5,000 (first place)
  • €3,000 (second place)
  • €2,000 (third place)

Participants can nominate entries for either the national, regional award, or both, with the flexibility to submit a maximum of three applications to the competition.

How to apply

The deadline for submission is June 13, 2024. To learn more and apply, please click here.

For more latest career opportunities, subscribe to our LinkedIn newsletter MediaDev Insider


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.