« Back to all Careers

COMESA Media Awards 2023

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) announces the call for entries for the 2023 COMESA Media Awards. The Award scheme is conducted every year to recognize and reward journalists who have contributed to regional integration by publishing and producing broadcast stories on the subject.

Objective of the Awards:

The objective of the Awards is to promote reporting of COMESA regional integration projects hence raising public awareness, understanding and participation and ownership. Relevant topics for entry include: development projects involving more than one COMESA Member State or a national project which have a regional dimension. Such projects cover trade, infrastructure (energy, transport, ICT), investments, gender etc. If the article/program is not about a COMESA programme, at least it should demonstrate the author/producer’s understanding of COMESA’s programmes.


The COMESA Media Awards are open for published and broadcasted works in the fields of print, radio, television, and online media. Only journalists who are COMESA nationals are eligible for the competition. The competition is open to individual journalists and not media institutions or organisations.


All works entered for the competition shall be in one of the COMESA official languages, namely English, French and Arabic.


Entries shall consist of the following:

  • Print Journalism: Features/articles should consist of a minimum 700 words and maximum 1,500 words published in mainstream newspapers, magazines/ journals and newsletters.
  • Radio Journalism: Documentary or discussion programmes of minimum 10 (ten) minutes and maximum 20 (twenty) minutes duration.
  • Television Journalism: Documentary or discussion programme of minimum 10 (ten) minutes and maximum 20 (twenty) minutes duration.
  • Online/new media: Features/articles of a minimum 700 (seven hundred words) and maximum 1,500 (One thousand five hundred) words published in mainstream newspapers (including online editions), magazines and reputable journals.
Adjudication and awards:

Selection of the best works will be done by an adjudication panel identified by COMESA Secretariat from Member States. The winners will be recognized during the COMESA Heads of State Summit in addition to a monetary award and a certificate.

Respects for Copyrights:

All works submitted must be original and in conformity with copyright requirements.


Entries submitted are those published or broadcasted between 1st January 2022 and 31 December 2022.

All submissions should reach the COMESA Secretariat by 31 January 2023.

To apply, please click here.

Status: Open

  • Awards & prizes

Organisation: Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

Deadline: 31/01/2023

Location: Eastern and Southern Africa


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.