« Back to all Careers

2023 Teresa Award for the Advancement of Feminist Scholarship

The Feminist Scholarship Division of International Communication Association seeks: (1) nominees for the Teresa Award for the Advancement of Feminist Scholarship, (2) volunteers willing to serve on the Teresa Award Selection Committee to help choose among the nominees.

About the Teresa Award:

The annual Teresa Award for the Advancement of Feminist Scholarship recognizes a senior feminist scholar who made a significant contribution to scholarship in communication and media studies. The awardee will receive $1000 and a plaque. The Division will hold a reception to celebrate the award during the 2023 International Communication Association conference in Toronto, Canada.

Volunteer to serve as selection committee members:

Those wishing to serve on the committee should hold a doctoral degree and have a depth of familiarity with feminist communication scholarship. Service on the committee requires a commitment of time in February after the nominations are in. Please indicate your interest in serving on the Teresa Award Committee by sending an email to the co-chairs of the Teresa Award Committee, Natalia Rybas (natrybas@gmail.com) and Elizabeth Toth (eltoth@umd.edu).

Submit award nominations:

The nominating materials should be submitted to the co-chairs no later than February 1, 2023. Those interested in nominating self or another feminist scholar for the award should inform co-chairs of the Teresa Award Committee about their intent.

The Teresa Award recognizes work from established feminist scholars who have made significant contributions to the development, reach and influence of feminist scholarship in communication and/or media studies. While the Teresa Award Committee favors research that consists of multiple projects and publications that have made a clear, coherent and sustained contribution to the advancement of feminist scholarship over time, single works and/or activities which have been highly influential in the field of feminist communication scholarship may also qualify someone for nomination. The strongest nominees for this award will have accomplished one or more of the following: (1) opened up new theoretical and/or methodological territory in feminist research; (2) made other important contributions to the advancement of feminist scholarship; and (3) engaged in feminist activism within academia that advanced feminist scholarship.

Any scholar who has made significant contributions to shaping the field of feminist communication and media studies may be nominated. They do not have be a member of Feminist Scholarship Division. The International Communication Association encourages self-nominations as well as the nomination by others. Members of the Teresa Award Committee may not submit nominees for consideration.

Nominations should include the following:
  • One letter of nomination, written in 12-point font and not exceeding two pages. Letters must:
    • provide full name and affiliation of the person being nominated;
    • specify the relevant body of work and/or other contributions made;
    • address the work’s and/or activity’s contributions to feminist scholarship (in the case of research, this will involve theoretical and methodological assessments);
    • make a case for its influence and impact on the advancement of feminist scholarship.
  • Current CV of the scholar being nominated.
  • Three representative examples of the work cited, where appropriate. If the example is book length, only the title page, copyright page, table of contents, and one chapter should be sent for that work.

Nomination packets should be submitted electronically to the co-chairs of the Teresa Award Committee, Natalia Rybas and Elizabeth Toth at natrybas@gmail.com and eltoth@umd.edu by February 1, 2023.

The Teresa Award was established in 2007 through an endowed fund created by Dr. Yoo Jae Song of Ewha Women’s University in Korea to honor her mother, Dr. Teresa Kyuguen Cho, a Korean American and a pediatrician, who passed away in Philadelphia in 2006 at the age of 83.

The International Communication Association accepts nominations from scholars who publish in languages other than English. However, there are certain issues that the nominators must be aware of: accessibility of the materials to the group who use English as the language of operation, and fairness to all nominees who either publish or do not publish in English. The International Communication Association recommends that the nominators primarily follow the instructions in the award call. The nomination letter and the CV should be in English. To facilitate accessibility, the International Communication Association asks the nominator to provide at least 1-2-page abstracts in English for the work published in other languages and to identify 2-3 bilingual scholars who might be asked to participate in the deliberation process. If the nominators consider it appropriate, a publication in English can be included among the three required for the nomination.

For more information, please click here.

Status: Open

  • Awards & prizes

Organisation: International Communication Association

Deadline: 01/02/2023

Location: Toronto, Canada


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.