« Back to all Careers

2023 Taco Kuiper Investigative Journalism Award

All journalists are invited to submit entries for the 2023 Taco Kuiper Investigative Journalism Award.

The Taco Kuiper Investigative Journalism Award recognises outstanding examples of investigative reporting that reveal untold stories, hold the powerful to account and question those in public life.

The top prize is R200 000 and the runner-up wins R100 000.

The Award is open to all journalists (which includes those who work in broadcast, online and photography) for stories about South Africa published or broadcast during 2022. Entries close at 14H00 on 10 February, 2023.

The award ceremony will be held on 21 April, 2023. Lunch will be served.

About the Taco Kuiper Awards:

A call for submissions is made every January on the Wits Centre for Journalism website (www.journalism.co.za).

The Award recognises the best examples of investigative reporting in South African in the previous calendar year. The Award can be made to a journalist or team of journalists. It can be for a single story or a series of stories published or broadcast in the previous year (please do not include pieces from earlier years, though where relevant they can be referred to in your motivation).

The motivation is extremely important as it should ensure the judges are fully aware of the work that went into the story, risks taken, its originality, context and impact.

Winners will be chosen by a panel of judges who have discretion to set and use criteria they consider to be appropriate and reasonable.

No publisher or broadcaster can submit more than three entries from their staff. No individual journalist may be part of more than two entries. Any individual or organisation may make a nomination.

To learn more and apply, please click here.

Status: Open

  • Awards & prizes

Organisation: Journalism.co.za

Deadline: 10/02/2023

Location: Johannesburg, South Africa


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.