« Back to all Careers

2023 Helen Award for Emerging Feminist Scholarship

The Feminist Scholarship Division of the International Communication Association seeks nominations and/or self-nominations for the Helen Award for Emerging Feminist Scholarship.

About the Helen Award:

The Helen Award for Emerging Feminist Scholarship is an annual award for an emerging feminist scholar in communication and/or media studies. The aim of the award is to recognize and support those whose early research and leadership demonstrate strong contributions to date and significant promise for future development in feminist communication and/or media studies.
The award winner will receive a certificate and a stipend of $300. The award will be presented at an awards ceremony at the 2023 International Communication Association conference.

Award Nominations and Self-Nominations:

The Helen Award recognizes work from emerging feminist scholars whose scholarship will have demonstrated substantive efforts to shape feminist scholarship in terms of theory, methodology, and/or pursuit of inquiry that help address the role of communication and media in the gendered power dynamics at institutional (including within media/journalism institutions), societal, and/or global levels. The winner will be a productive early- to mid-career scholar who has received a Ph.D. (or other terminal degree) in or after 2013. The winner’s body of work is expected to demonstrate a sustained commitment to feminist scholarship.
While the committee for the Helen Award for Emerging Feminist Scholarship favors nominees who have produced multiple projects and publications that show clear, coherent, and sustained potential for significant contributions to feminist scholarship over time, single works and/or activities that have had a demonstrable impact on feminist communication and media scholarship may also qualify. Nominees should have engaged with the Feminist Scholarship Division.

The Feminist Scholarship Division of the International Communication Association encourages self-nominations as well as nomination by others. Members of the Helen Award Committee may not submit nominations.

Requirements for a (self-)nomination:
  • One letter of nomination, not to exceed two pages, in English. Letter must:
    • provide the full name and affiliation of the person being nominated;
    • address the works and/or activities that demonstrate the nominee’s strides toward significant contributions in feminist research (in the case of research, this will involve theoretical and methodological assessments);
    • make a case for its demonstrable potential for or impact on feminist communication and media scholarship.
  • Current C.V. of the nominee, in English.
  • Three representative examples of the work cited, where appropriate. If the example is book length, only the book’s title page, copyright page, table of contents, and one chapter should be sent.
  • Note on language: the International Communication Association accepts nominations from scholars who publish in languages other than English. However, nominators must be aware of certain issues, including the following two: accessibility of the materials to the group who use English as the language of operation and fairness to all nominees who either publish or do not publish in English. The International Communication Association recommends that the nominators primarily follow the instructions in the award call. The nomination letter and the C.V. should be in English. To facilitate accessibility, the International Communication Association asks the nominator to provide at least 1-2-page abstracts in English for the work published in other languages and to identify 2-3 bilingual scholars who might be asked to participate in the deliberation process. If the nominators consider it appropriate, a publication not in English can be included among the three required for the nomination.
Due date:

Nomination packets should be submitted electronically in a single PDF to the chair of the Helen Award Committee, Stine Eckert at stine.eckert@wayne.edu by February 1, 2023.

The Helen Award for Emerging Feminist Scholarship was established in 2020. The first award was given in 2022. Dr. Linda Steiner made a significant contribution to establish this award, which is named for her mother, Helen Steiner. Born in Prague in 1927, Helen came to the U.S. with her family in 1939. Having earned a B.A. from Vassar College and an M.S. from SUNY-Albany, she taught elementary school for several decades, in Idaho Falls and in upstate New York. She is famous for her interest in politics, witty sense of humor, loyalty to her friends and community, and her volunteer work and philanthropy.

For more information, please click here.

Status: Open

  • Awards & prizes

Organisation: International Communication Association

Deadline: 01/02/2023

Location: Global


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.