« Back to all Careers

2023 Free Press Awards

Status: Closed

  • Awards & prizes

Organisation: Free Press Unlimited (FPU)

Deadline: 15/08/2023

Location: Global

The Free Press Unlimited has launched the 2023 Free Press Awards to recognise journalists and media professionals who have a strong commitment with press freedom and independent information.

Free Press Unlimited wants to honor journalists who risk everything to bring them the news, media pioneers who pave the way for equality and justice, and those who persevere under the most difficult circumstances. Free Press Unlimited supports media and journalists worldwide.


  • Newcomer of the Year- Hans Verploeg Award
  • Most Resilient Journalist Award

Eligibility Criteria
Nominations for the awards will be judged by an independent panel of international experts. Please note the following when nominating:

Newcomer of the Year Award

  • Newcomer of the Year Award
    – You cannot nominate yourself;
    – To be eligible for the category of Newcomer of the Year, the nominee should be active as a journalist for a maximum of three years.
    – The winner in the category ‘Newcomer of the Year’ will receive a media scholarship.
  • Most Resilient Journalist Award
    – You cannot nominate yourself;
    – When you nominate someone, make sure this person is aware and gives permission;
    – Make sure you have sufficient examples of work to upload with the nomination;
    – The winner in the category ‘Most Resilient Journalist’ will receive a cash prize.

See more here for more details and to apply.

For more latest career opportunities, subscribe to our LinkedIn newsletter MediaDev Insider


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.