« Back to all Careers

2022 AAAS KAVLI Science Journalism Awards

Status: Closed

  • Awards & prizes

Organisation: The American Association for the Advancement of Science

Deadline: 01/06/2022

Location: Worldwide

  • Eligibility criteria:
    Open to reporters doing work for independent news organizations around the world. If the submitted work was published or broadcast in a language other than English, you must provide an English translation.
    – You cannot enter the same story or stories in two different categories, nor may you enter a story both as an individual entry and as part of a group of stories.
    – Entry limit: Entrants may submit up to THREE entries in all (across one or more categories).
  • Type of funding: Award
  • Target countries: Worldwide
  • Application language: English

Entries are now open for the 2022 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) KAVLI Science Journalism Awards.

AAAS has been recognizing excellence in science journalism since 1945. Thanks to a doubling of their endowment by The Kavli Foundation in 2015, they accept entries from journalists worldwide in all categories.

Categories include:
– Science Reporting – Large Outlet
– Science Reporting – Small Outlet
– Science Reporting – In-Depth
– Magazine
– Video In-Depth Reporting
– Video Spot News/Feature Reporting
– Audio
– Children’s Science News

Two awards will be given in each of the Categories, a Gold Award worth $5,000 and a Silver Award worth $3,500. (One winner for each award also may receive reasonable travel, airport transfer, hotel, and per diem meal expenses to attend an awards ceremony in February 2023 if such ceremony is held on-site rather than virtually.)

See here to learn more and apply.

For more latest career opportunities, subscribe to our LinkedIn newsletter MediaDev Insider


You are using an outdated browser which can not show modern web content.

We suggest you download Chrome or Firefox.